The Notre-Dame cathedral

Place de l'Evêché, nr. .
7500, Tournai
+32 (0) 69 22.20.45 www.cathedrale-tournai.be Add to Cart 
Commercial Descriptions

The Notre-Dame Cathedral is a gem of medieval architecture, listed as a world heritage site by UNESCO since 2000. Its impressive dimensions (134 m long and 66 m wide), the harmonious blend of Romanesque and Gothic styles and its daring architecture make this building a benchmark for religious monuments of the West. Unfortunately, the cathedral with its huge grey nave and its five bell towers that dominate the city, has suffered the ravages of time. Major restoration works have been carried out since 2006: stabilisation of the Gothic choir, replacement of the roof, cleaning of the stone walls, restoration of the stained-glass windows… The restoration works considerably limit the visibility and the Gothic choir is currently inaccessible. On the outside, scaffolds hide the towers from view.

The exhibition « Visible, invisible, la cathédrale illustrée. 100 mètres d’histoire(s) » (Visible, invisible, the cathedral illustrated - 100 metres of history), which can be discovered along the fence around the building, reveals what is hidden thanks to exceptional images. This exhibition deals with the history of the Notre-Dame cathedral, its significance for the city, its architecture, its treasures and the restoration works. You can learn even more during a viewing of the 20-minute 3D documentary « La cathédrale, de la pierre au ciel » at the Tourist Office or a visit with a qualified guide.

The so-called Treasure Room (museum) is also outstanding with the presence of major works of art like the two major shrines of Our Lady and St Eleutherius, precious ivory pieces, silverware, a tapestry from Arras of the 14th century or the chasuble of Thomas Becket (12th century), Archbishop of Canterbury, and the coat worn by Charles Quint when he held the chapter of Toison d’Or in 1531.

Photos
Videos
Choose Distance
Hide Map
Les horaires
Cathedral (Free): 1/04 > 30/10: from Monday to Friday open from 9:00 to 18:00. On Saturday, Sunday and bank holidays open from 9:00 to 12:00 and from 14:00 to 18:00. 1/11 > 31/03 : from Monday to Friday open from 9:00 to 17:00. On Saturday, Sunday and bank holidays open from 9:00 to 12:00 and from 14:00 to 17:00. Treasure Room (2.50€) : 1/04 > 30/10 : from Monday to Friday open from 10:00 to 18:00 (closed on Monday morning –ticket sale until 17:30). On Saturday, Sunday and bank holidays open from 13:00 to 18:00 (ticket sale until 17:30). 1/11 > 31/03 : from Tuesday to Friday open from 10:00 to 17:00. On Monday, Saturday, Sunday and bank holidays open from 13:00 to 17:00.

Cathédrale Notre-Dame

Place de l'Evêché, nr. .
7500, Tournai
+32 (0) 69 22.20.45 www.cathedrale-tournai.be Ajouter au panier 
En quelques mots

La Cathédrale Notre-Dame est un joyau de l’architecture médiévale inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine UNESCO en 2000. Ses dimensions impressionnantes (134 m de long pour 66 m de large), son alliance harmonieuse des styles roman et gothique et son audace architecturale en font une référence parmi les monuments religieux de l'Occident. Cet immense vaisseau gris qui domine la ville de ses cinq clochers subit malheureusement les outrages du temps. Depuis 2006, un vaste chantier de restauration est à l’œuvre : stabilisation du chœur gothique, remplacement des toitures, nettoyage des murs en pierre, restauration des vitraux… Le chantier limite amplement la visibilité et l’accès au bâtiment : le transept et le chœur gothique sont inaccessibles, et à l’extérieur, des échafaudages masquent les tours de l’édifice. Le chantier limite amplement la visibilité et le chœur gothique est actuellement inaccessible. A l’extérieur, des échafaudages masquent les tours de l’édifice.

L’exposition «Visible, invisible, la cathédrale illustrée - 100 mètres d’histoire(s)» à découvrir sur La Palissade tout autour de l’édifice révèle ce qui est masqué grâce à des images exceptionnelles. Elle présente la cathédrale Notre-Dame, son histoire, son rôle dans la ville, son architecture, ses trésors, et le chantier de restauration. Le documentaire 3D de 20 minutes, «La cathédrale, de la pierre au ciel», visible à l’Office du Tourisme, ou une visite avec un guide confirmé, vous permettront d’en savoir encore un peu plus.

La salle dit du Trésor (musée) présente également un intérêt exceptionnel avec la présence d’œuvres majeures comme les deux grandes châsses de Notre-Dame et de Saint Eleuthère, de précieux ivoires, des pièces d’orfèvreries, une tapisserie d’Arras du XIVe siècle, ou encore le manteau porté par Charles Quint lors du chapitre de la Toison d’Or en 1531.

Photos
Videos
Choisissez Distance
Hide Map
Les horaires
Cathédrale (gratuit) : 1/04 > 31/10 : ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 18h. Les samedis, dimanches et jours fériés : de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 18h. 1/11 > 31/03 : ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 17h. Les samedis, dimanches et jours fériés : de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 17h. Trésor de la Cathédrale (2,50 euros) : 1/04 > 31/10 : ouvert du mardi au vendredi, de 10h à 18h (fermeture billetterie à 17h30). Lundis, week-ends et jours fériés : 13h à 18h (fermeture billetterie à 17h30). 1/11 > 31/03 : ouvert du mardi au vendredi de 10h à 17h . Les lundis, samedis, dimanches et jours fériés de 13h à 17h.